Skip to content

Not Even Martha Has This

March 5, 2010
tags:

I was commissioned by the girl child to create a floppy hat. A hat like I knit a long time ago. The hat that I considered to be a mistake. The hat that sat on your head like a bloated whale or a pregnant sack of onions. I hated that hat. She, of course, loved it.

I had created that hat by knitting by the seat of my pants. Turned out, the seat of my pants wasn’t very good at knitting.

So, I wasn’t very pleased to receive this request.  I hemmed and hawed but maternal guilt drove me to look for floppy hat patterns.

I then found this:

From Made in Brooklyn.

I just finished it, knitting it with scraps of Noro. I made sure to make it floppy…floppy is the key to love.  Don’t tell the makers of Viagara.

The directions say to block it over a 10 in dinner plate. I’ve just soaked it and am now blocking it over a pizza pan. Pizza pans make niiiiice and floppy hats.

The funny thing is, while I was knitting it, I couldn’t see a pattern at all. I knew I was knitting it correctly but it looked like a muddled piece of crap.

And then I stretched it out.

I’ll be damned.

Now that is the prettiest damn pizza pan cozy I have ever seen!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 11:04 pm

    That is gorgeous! Congratulations!

    Isn’t it funny how we don’t think that we’re doing very good work? Then we deliver, and the recipient is thrilled, and our work doesn’t look nearly as bad as we thought it did?

    It happens all the time in my programming, too. I can see the mistakes in my code. They stick out like neon signs. But then it does what it was built to do, and the customer thinks I walk on water.

    We are our own worst critics!

  2. Laura permalink
    March 6, 2010 1:15 am

    Beautiful! Girl child is fortunate indeed to have a knitting mama.

  3. dagney permalink
    March 6, 2010 4:04 pm

    That is spectacular! **jealous!**

  4. Tabatha Voros permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:30 am

    So now you must set a price and start selling them. I will be your first customer! LOVE IT! And NO I will not be using it as as pizza cozy!

    • Tabatha Voros permalink
      March 9, 2010 10:38 am

      Hellloooo, did you read my comment or just let it post?!?!? HHMMMMMM? Are you going to set some prices so some of us who can barely hold a crochet needle have a pretty too? I want mine in the red and white pattern only I’d like it in Black with pink as the design. Set up a paypal button so I can buy one! Me want! Was that a little pushy? Sorry, not much sleep, but still know what I want, just not how to ask nicely ;o} You know you can make a pretty penny making stuff like this on the side.

  5. March 9, 2010 11:18 am

    Sorry, I’m not doing commissions with my knitting. Knitting hurts my hands and I have a finite amount of knitting that I can do. Sorry!

    • Tabatha Voros permalink
      March 9, 2010 9:26 pm

      You do realize I am now crying my eyes out! But, I do have an Auntie that knits, think I’ll give her a call and link to your blog! BTW, I had surgery on my wrist and know just what you are talking about. Sorry, I forgot about the hands.

Leave a Reply

