Skip to content

My Million Dollar Baby

March 3, 2010
tags:

My thanks go out to Uncle Sam for assisting in the paying off of a plethora of billage. 

As I sit down and lay out the bills in the order of importance, along with the obligations of parentage and pet ownership (Woot! Woot! Rabies shots all around! Hooray! The children won’t have to look like they are preparing for the great flood anymore) there will be an ever so small amount which will be used for a small indulgence. 

I have not had time to exercise lately. FYI: that leaves me feeling like the sluggiest of slugs. 

Something that I wanted to do back when the proverbial shit hit the fan will come to fruition. Sort of. 

Back when my anger and aggression colored my aura red with orange racing stripes I wanted to visit the local boxing gym. I wanted to hit stuff. Hard. But finances and the realization that I probably wanted to hit stuff with a baseball bat stood in the way. I don’t watch boxing. I hate the idea of hitting someone else. Even more than that, I hate the idea of getting hit. Also, I saw Million Dollar Baby. I know the score man, and it’s a dangerous world out there. And I don’t have health insurance. 

But the idea of beating the shit out of an inanimate object? Now that rocks. I have done it a few times over the past year when the screaming monkeys have driven me past the point of reason. I can dismantle a desk or a wooden fouton with a baseball bat in less than three minutes flat. I can also burn the entire thing in the family fire pit. It gives a lovely glow. I even brought marshmallows. 

I’ve been working on getting the last of his crap out of my life and I will now hire someone to do the rest for me. I will then invest in a heavy bag for the basement and an exercise mat. Something that will prevent sit-ups from wearing the skin off my tailbone. 

I’m planning on calling around to area used sports equipment dealers and finding the perfect punching bag, perhaps even a mixed martial arts bag. Never underestimate the psychological benefits from kicking the shit out of something too. 

Paying off a lot of bills, throwing out the rest of his crap, and kicking a little ass. Yes indeed Uncle Sam. Thank you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tabatha Voros permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:24 am

    Good for your! Any additions to Alice in the works?

Leave a Reply

