Skip to content

Family Ties, Or Not…

February 2, 2010

I haven’t bought a delectable coffee from a coffee shop in eons but for some reason, while doing a drive by at Mt Royal Fine Foods for lunch fodder, I was drawn to a coffee at Caribou. Just a plain lattee. Just for a treat. 

And after totally boffing the daily trivia question (Polaris is in the LITTLE dipper, not the big dipper!) I handed over my new check card to the cashier. 

“OH MY GOD! We have the SAME LAST NAME!” She looked at me in amazement, obviously studying my face and having a temporary panic attack that yes, her genetics might turn her into me in twenty-five years. 

Right before she started to ask, I held up my hand and smiled. “Unfortunately, we don’t share any relatives”, I assured her, “I chose this last name by happenstance after a divorce because it KICKS ASS!” 

She was completely impressed that I valued her name so highly. 

(I left off the whole gay time-agent thing, why spoil a fun moment with the revelation of your nerdom?) 

Harkness bonding over lattees. All in all, a wonderful start to the day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 2:29 pm

    I think I might know that person….a wonderful Harkness family lived a half-block away from me in Duluth. Good people!

Leave a Reply

