Skip to content

File This!

January 30, 2010

Good Evening and welcome to Monsterpiece Theater.

I now have, in my hot little hard drive, all nine seasons of the X-Files.

I will faithfully spend my precious spare time watching every single episode. I can do this. I want to believe.  I am in the groove.

Just like I groove on my Torchwood.

Just like I have been grooving on Fringe.

I have come to the conclusion that what appeals to me in regards to tv shows is very much like what appeals to me in art.

I am attracted to things that disturb the comfortable.

I love Doctor Who for it infinite possibilities,

I loved Dead Like Me for its inquisitive melancholy,

and I loved China Beach for its pain and gallows humor.

But I have yet to love a tv show because it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

So, after watching myself into a stupor with Dana and Fox, I’m looking for suggestions on a new (or old) series to fall for.

I want to believe…the truth is out there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. superiorfan permalink
    January 31, 2010 12:28 am

    I really got hooked on Dexter. A blood spatter expert that is a serial killer but only kills those that deserve it.

  2. January 31, 2010 11:28 am

    My dear, I believe that show is Farscape…a most intriguing, funny little space show that was on Sci-Fi (back when they were still “Sci-Fi” and not “syfy” or whatever it is that they are calling themselves these days…).

    I absolutely loved this show–it ran for four years. 60 bucks for the complete SERIES on DVD at Amazon right now, and it is definitely on my shopping list.

    Dead Like Me was absolutely brilliant! Love, Love, Love. Also Torchwood and Dr. Who. We’re going to have to watch some TV together one of these days…

  3. January 31, 2010 11:47 am

    Firefly.

  4. January 31, 2010 3:10 pm

    I am in your park with all of your shows. Totally agree with the reader above about Farscape. How quickly it got dark! Can we spell it darque? It seems to need it’s own definition/denotation. I would like to add Sanctuary which has just finished it’s second season. I found it on iTunes. It seems to be finding it’s way, but is getting better. Have you watched Supernatural? It is aimed at a very young crowd, but does the darque in its own way.

    If you love your Dr. Who, I highly recommend reading the recaps at Television Without Pity. The gentleman who writes the recaps is brilliant and adds so much dimension to every episode as he writes pages after page of recaps that read more like love letters.

  5. January 31, 2010 10:34 pm

    I’m almost ashamed to admit that I subscribe to about seven different Dr. Who podcasts…My goal for the first real vacation I’m going to take will be to combine a visit to my potential new town with a visit to Gallifrey, the biggest Dr. Who convention in the US. That would be in a year so I’ll be able to save up some vacation time…NERD!!!!

    I just started Firefly a couple nights ago! I heard it on Staggering Stories, a Sci-Fi podcast that is an absolute hoot.

    And I tried to get into Dexter but even when you’re carving up bad people, you’re still carving up people…couldn’t take it.

    Has anyone watched Red Dwarf or Life on Mars?

  6. Laura permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:50 pm

    Not so old, but I liked 6 Feet Under – strange, dark, funny, sad – I loved the characters, especially the mom!

  7. February 2, 2010 1:31 pm

    Life on Mars is absolutely great – but short. Life is good, and so is The Unusuals.

  8. February 4, 2010 2:56 am

    Also assuming you’ve done Battlestar Galactica?

Leave a Reply

