Skip to content

Rah! Rah! Rah!

January 24, 2010

Now that I am establishing my new routine of work, school and sleep while going forward on refinancing the Harkness palace, I am starting to look at life down the road.

I recall playing this game back before the criminal proceedings concluded.  It was horrible and overwhelming and it made my head hurt.

Now? It’s a thousand piece puzzle that I’m trying to put together and every single piece is fuchsia. At least it doesn’t make my head hurt anymore and I’ve stopped rocking autistically. Occasionally I do pick up one of the puzzle pieces and lick it hesitantly just to make  sure that it hasn’t acquired the flavor of unicorn kisses but for the most part, I move the pieces around and scratch my head a lot.

Someday, I will move far away.

In order to afford to move, I must sell my house.

In order to sell my house, I need to put it on the market and wait.

Once I sell my house, I need to live somewhere else.

These are the things I know to be true.

Now, the question is, what order to I put these things in?

I’m thinking that when the time is right (note: a few years down the road when the market is better), I should sell my house and move into a place where I will rent. This will allow me flexibility when the time comes (job offer) to fly the coop.

Finding a rental that would accept two dogs and two cats? Hmmmm. Could be interesting.

Then, there is the move to somewhere else.

My goal would be to buy a house as soon as possible as I’m looking at housing prices vs. rental prices in a few of the towns that I’m considering and renting would be insane.

But I’m assuming that I would have to rent in the short term and then move again when I found a house.

But the idea of moving my stuff twice sucks. I will no doubt have to hire people to help me since I’ll kinda be on my own in a strange city.

I’d love to do it all in one fell swoop. New job, new house, new city. As Emeril would say, “BAM!”

The perfect scenario would be to get a job that would help me move. The reality of the situation is that  I will probably be working for a non-profit and non-profits can barely pay for toilet paper, let alone future employee’s moving expenses.

So, I keep moving these puzzle pieces around and wondering who would be a good resource on the nuts and bolts of this situation.

I don’t think it would be a life coach. The very term “life coach” makes me throw up a little in my mouth.

Realtor? Psychiatrist? Shaman?

Tinker, tailor, soldier, spy?

Perhaps a football coach? He could explain it all in a series of x’s and o’s and yellow lines and cheerleaders.

AND there could be a marching band!

Good lord…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabatha Voros permalink
    January 25, 2010 2:20 am

    Helpful hints from a Realtor (me!) Okay okay used to be until about 2 years ago when I got pregnant and couldn’t even get on my feet. First of all you DO NOT NEED TO MOVE 2x. It is a buyers market so you have a lot of flexibility. First off you can make the sale and purchase contingent on one another. Second you can do a “rent back” in other words you can stay (usually up to 60 days) in the place you sold after closing. It can be done, it is done all the time. Second thing to think about – where you move. Can you get the same grants and breaks on the school as most states require that you be a resident for at least 1 year (however with your reason for moving out of state they will often waive that requirement). So here is my suggestion: Move here and I’ll get you all set up! Don’t worry you can do it! You have my private email so you can just email be anytime with questions. You also have my phone number so feel free to call at 2 am since it is only 11 pm here ;o}. Honestly though anything I can help with I am more than willing to. I even have friends on the east coast that are Realtors so we gotcha covered! Also, if you use the same agent to sell and buy you can usually get them to list your house for 4 percent compared to the normal 6-7 percent (1 percent to your guy 3 percent to whomever brings the buyer) On your puchase you can also usually get them to kick in 1 percent for closing costs and have the seller pay the rest, recurring AND non recurring! One thing for sure, move far away so that POS can not ever find you and the kids can feel safer!

  2. Tabatha Voros permalink
    January 25, 2010 2:40 am

    P.S. forgot to mention corgies and kitties are welcome here!

  3. Annie permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:45 am

    Much less knowledgeable suggestion: move stuff to storage where you plan to settle, live on air mattress in rental???

  4. January 25, 2010 11:07 am

    Tabatha,
    Thankfully, I’m an online student so location is not a problem! Also, by the time I’m ready to leave, I hope to be done with my education (AND NEVER LEARN ANOTHER THING AGAIN!!!). The kids will be in college and doing their own thing and as my daughter is looking at two of the same cities for college that I am for work, we might end up in the same region of the country quite by accident.

    Keep the ideas coming!!! They are most welcome!

  5. January 25, 2010 3:22 pm

    I can’t add much to what Tabatha said, except in my opinion trying to time the housing market is REAL difficult. Everyone says “I’ll wait until the value of my house is back up there” but the problem is that in general the price of the house you want will be up there, too.

    So I think the timing depends somewhat on whether you are moving to a bigger, smaller, or similar property, and also what is the local market like where you want to move.

    Ideally you want to sell your house for the MOST and buy the new house for the LEAST but I never have been able to time things to get the ideal situation. Bummer.

    On the other hand, I have always made my offer to buy a new house contigent on selling my house for a certain price, so I never ‘accidently’ own two houses – which believe me would be more than I can afford.

    Could you move somewhere with friends that could put you up (or put up with you) for awhile? I would think being alone would make this easier than me – schlepping four kids around, although now that would be only one left who has not started college.

    I guess that is all the ideas I have at the moment. Good luck.

  6. January 25, 2010 5:47 pm

    I was going to suggest something really similar to what Tabatha said. Sell to someone who wants to buy your place as an “investment property” and rent it back from them until you’re ready to move.

  7. Tabatha Voros permalink
    January 25, 2010 6:55 pm

    I am going to ask you a very nosy question, feel free to tell me to stick it ;o} Your daughter is now at a new school and doing very well I understand. Do you think perhaps your son may like a fresh start sooner rather than later. You know reinvent himself at another school in a different state? If that is the case, putting your house on the market now may not be a bad idea. It does take forever in this market anyway to sell and you’ll be in no hurry. Also, when buying a new place, sellers are usually way more than happy to agree to your terms. I am talking about closing in 1 weeks time etc. You may have to rent just so you can find a job in the area you want to live in because jobs as we all know are not easy to come by. But once you do find a job then you can buy really quickly. I have closed deals in under a week when the sellers are motivated! Good luck and am thinking of you guys! Also, as far as college goes your son also needs to be a resident of that state for a year if he does JC first. PELL grants rock!
    Tabatha

  8. January 25, 2010 8:28 pm

    Tabitha, that’s not nosey. The truth of the matter is that the only reason why I am still in Duluth is that my son wants to stay at his present school and graduate from there. He had the exact same opportunity as my daughter to leave town but didn’t want to go.

    My ultimate goal in this whole scenario has been to treat my kids as individuals and to respect their choices. They both have a really good head on their shoulders and are old enough to have a vision of their own lives and their own goals. For their entire lives, I’ve tried to learn what their interests are and then show them how they can pursue those interests.

    So, I’m hanging with my home boy for a couple more years in Duluth…I figure it will give me a chance to get educated myself and by the time he’s done, I’ll be in a far better place to move on. It will also give me the opportunity to take vacation time and travel to the cities that I am interested in and see first hand what the job market, housing market, and latte market is like.

    Cuz momma ain’t moving to a place with crappy coffee!

  9. January 26, 2010 12:04 pm

    I hope that when you’re ready to visit cities you’ll check in with your online acquaintances. Some of us (me!) would be happy to put you up during your visit to help you save some money. So… if you’re ever headed to northern Virginia, you can stay here! (Or, at the very least, I’ll buy you a beer or two while you’re in town.)

Leave a Reply

