Skip to content

At The Feet Of The Machine

January 22, 2010

So, when one goes to the DMV to get a copy of the title to the car so that one can then turn around and give that same title back to the DMV for the removal of one name and the changing of the other name, one should not expect ANY DEVIATION FROM THE NORM.

In other words, when the names on the title are listed with his above mine, this will create a mailing label that has his name above mine.

Doesn’t sound to problematic, right?

Except that I have learned that when his name is above mine, it is his name that the piece of mail goes to, not me.

“Oh, no, no, no!”  They assured me. “It will go to the address, not to any specific person.”

“Can’t you change the order of the names?”

“No.”

“So, if it will come to the address and not the people, tell me why it hasn’t done that on other occasions?”

“Well, that can’t be right.”

“But it is.”

“But that can’t be.”

“But it HAS happened.”

“But that can’t be.”

This volley went back and forth until I held up my hand and in a ridiculously loud voice told my story and my annoyance and that I needed a NAME to call when my title didn’t come to me in two weeks time.

The clerk picked her jaw up off the counter and gave me her personal business card. 

“Call me even if you do get it…I just want to make this work for you…”

I then hung my head a little and apologized for being a jerk.

Every now and then, the machine gives you a break.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

