Skip to content

You Can’t Win If I Don’t Play

January 13, 2010
tags:

It seems to be the old game of one upsmanship. Just how long has your day been?

I’m the old bat that sits by myself in the school commons and attempts to read while the youngsters proclaim loudly amongst themselves that they got up at such and such time and they haven’t slept in this many weeks…after a couple of them sat down at my table, one turned to me and said “I’ve been going since five this morning.”

I affirmed that yes, he must be tired. I then bit back my response of “Well, I’ve been up since four…”

The game ends with me. I am the official party pooper.

The thing is, with this game, there is no secret prize for the most tired, most miserable, and thus hardest working person in the group.

“I haven’t slept for three days and I’ve only had coffee and Mountain Dew…”

Wow, perhaps you need a multi-vitamin.

I’ve been there before. I worked full time and went to school when my kids were toddlers. You know what? It’s exhausting and it sucks. You know what else is exhausting and sucks? Poverty. Guess which one has a longer shelf life?

But it is a game for the young. For every generation that thinks they reinvented school, work, kids, and life, they have to convince themselves that it is worth it by proclaiming their exhaustion to the world.

Been there, done that, doing it again. And vending machine coffee? It STILL SUCKS.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    January 13, 2010 5:46 am

    You need a little thermas of your own, home brewed coffee.

  2. Tabatha Voros permalink
    January 13, 2010 8:55 am

    Offer to help get a starbucks on campus in exchange for free coffee and munchies! Come on you must have the time! If you’re up at 4 just get up at 2, but don’t go to be before midnight or your slacking! You do realize of course I am being a total smart ass! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

