Skip to content

The Beginning Of The Beginning

January 6, 2010
tags:

I’m declaring today a personal holiday. Perhaps it will go down as a collective birthday for the Harkness Family.

Yes. It is finally final.

The divorce papers have been signed by the judge.

The name has changed for the three of us.

We are now our own family.

Two high priced lawyers later and he received exactly diddly squat. He lost his freedom and his last name won’t be carried on by anyone.

I do believe this is known as THE END.

I also believe this is known as THE BEGINNING.

Now to cogitate on how to refinance the house while simultaneously dealing with having a new name. I have discovered that the name Harkness means nothing when dealing with any kind of credit. It has no lifetime history of paying bills on time and being a fine upstanding citizen in the eyes of “the man”.

I sincerely do not want to hyphenate my last name on the refinance. I want everything to be in my new last name. My newest short term goal is to flip all my identity crap over ASAP. Oh yeah, and to report to my first math class at college next Monday without undergoing the dreaded nightmare of showing up in nothing but my underwear.

New name. New school. New mortgage. New life.

Happy Birthday to us!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 6, 2010 7:28 am

    Happy, happy, happy day for the Harkness Clan! Perhaps sleeping in your very nicest undies will help with nightmares. Best wishes on your new beginning.

  2. Jodie permalink
    January 6, 2010 7:31 am

    Oh CONGRATULATIONS! “Onward”, indeed!

  3. Krista permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:08 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    I am proud of how you have handled this journey!

  4. BadCat! permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:18 am

    Congrats!!! It may normally sound cliché, but today is truly the first day of the rest of your life. 🙂

  5. Pam permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:35 am

    I wish you and your kids much deserved happiness and peace! Life will only continue to get better as each day passes.

  6. January 6, 2010 8:47 am

    Wonderful! Congratulations and best wishes for a happy future!

  7. Amy permalink
    January 6, 2010 3:33 pm

    Great News! I am so happy for every Harkness I know… Cheers!

  8. Anne permalink
    January 7, 2010 3:55 am

    FINALLY! Congratulations … keep your eyes on the future and don’t even look back. Life will only get better from this point. Remember, we were raised as survivors and all these life lessons only make us stronger. AIN’T NO STOPPING US NOW!
    Love you bunches,
    Your Michigan Sister

  9. Tabatha Voros permalink
    January 7, 2010 2:18 pm

    WOWOWOWOWOW! Thank God! I’ve been so busy with the baby I hadn’t ready in a couple of days! Wow and Wow again! CONGRATULATIONS! Come to California for a VACATION when you can, bring the kids and I’ll take you everywhere! Seriously! I actually cried in relief when I read this! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO THE HARKNESS FAMILY. THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE! Damn, I wish I were 1/2 the writer you are just to express how happy I am for you and the kids!
    Much love
    Tabatha (friend in Folsom)

Leave a Reply

