Skip to content

Step Right Up

December 30, 2009

Sitting down with tax forms and meditating on my belly button:

Last year I filed as married but filing separately. I have divorce papers that were signed by him in July and me in September and yet, by the grace of Jesus and prison yard conversions, I am still married.

I propose to file this year as “Married but extremely ambivalent” .

Or perhaps “Married and absolutely exhausted by the fucking drawn through a rat hole nature of becoming unmarried”

Or perhaps I could just write in, using my handy purple crayon, “Are ya freakin’ serious???”

Thankfully, emotionally, getting past the one year anniversary was the antidote that I needed.  The New Year will be be tidying up the loose ends (in other words, actually GETTING that divorce) and going forward.  The Girl has the right idea. Since our name is still not officially changed, the school has to have her official last name on file. She has given all her teachers her soon-to-be legal name and asks them to use it but when one teacher failed to do so, she called him out in the middle of class.

“That’s not my real name. That’s my slave name. You can use my real name.”

Which is a ballsy version of what I’ve gone through, stumbling and mumbling and staring at my shoes while I explain to whomever that yes, this is my legal name but it’s not the name that I prefer.

Of course, all of this is offered with absolutely no explanation which leads many people to the conclusion that the Harkness Family? They are a FREAK SHOW!

Yep. That’s us. Wedged firmly between the “Boy That Looks Like A Dog” and the “Living Human Mermaid”.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 10:38 am

    “Married but extremely ambivalent”

    That is f*cking fantastic, my friend. Truly. Made me spit bev and everything…

  2. December 30, 2009 12:56 pm

    I love the attitude and the forward thinking positivity of this post. Please continue.

  3. December 30, 2009 8:07 pm

    Yeah, I know, I am accused of having way too much in the bravado department but you know what?

    In my opinion you are putting most of this ‘freak show’ thing on yourself.

    The way I see it most people don’t actually give a damn about you (bless their hearts!) and those that do give a damn know that every single one of us is a freak in some show or other.

    So that leaves a handful of cruel bastards who might pay attention to you long enough to mock you, and as my dear psychiatrist/actor friend told me years and years ago – Fuck them!!

    Sorry for the language but I reserve it for when it is really needed, and this seemed like that time.

    I’m traveling to the parents over the New Year holiday, so if I don’t stop by – have a great time without me!!

  4. December 31, 2009 1:51 am

    Yeah Tripp, that’s just my semse of humor…

Leave a Reply

