Skip to content

Leader of the Pack

December 28, 2009

Dear Cesar Milan,

I am currently reading your book. I’m all about the calm submissive dog and the human being  as the leader of the pack.

I’m also all about doing all that I can to have my dogs behave and act like well-tempered citizens of the canine world.

But there is something that I need to draw your attention to. Something that I think you fail to take into consideration when you are training dogs and owners in the warmth and sunshine of California.

Or even the warmth and sunshine of any city that you might travel to for a consultation.

What you fail to consider, my friend, is that not every city has sunshine and warmth.

This can be a hindrance to the training of our four-legged friends.

Let’s just say, for example, that a dog owner lives in a place such as Duluth, MN. Duluth, MN in the winter time.

 Duluth, MN after 24 inches of snow and several hours of rain followed by intense cold.

 In other words: Ice.

Yes, Cesar. I’m talking about misbehaving dogs on the ice. Perhaps this can be a brand new branch of training for you? Perhaps this can be a new revenue stream?

Might I suggest dog walking boots with built-in crampons which would allow for traction when the owner’s dogs decide to bolt during their early morning walk? Or perhaps you could conduct seminars for dog owners who have had the unfortunate experience of walking their dogs down hill on the ice and even though the dogs have stopped running, they are pulling on their leash just enough to make the owner completely lose control and have to aim her body for the nearest snow bank in order to stop.

By the way Cesar, snow banks that have been rained upon are both icy and hard.

Yeah…the next time I see you roller-blading with  twenty dogs on leashes I will fail to be impressed. Now, twenty dogs on leashes walking downhill after an ice storm? Yeah, that’s how you impress a Minnesotan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Weir permalink
    December 28, 2009 5:13 am

    Thanks for making me laugh first thing this morning!

  2. Annie permalink
    December 28, 2009 3:37 pm

    At dawn, I’ve been putting dog in car and driving him to a snowmobile trail, like Hawk Ridge or Lester, just so he can take some normal steps.

Leave a Reply

