Skip to content

So Sleepy

December 23, 2009

Right before I left for the cities to pick up the girl, I rifled through the mail and saw something from the court house.

Shit! It certainly didn’t look like a lawyerin’ type document…I momentarily envisioned a letter from Judge Rod-Up-The-Ass telling me that my divorce paperwork had failed and that all the lawyers involved were being disbarred for incompetence and the plague of locusts were heading toward the courthouse and hadn’t I better find something to hide under???

All that in about 2.3 seconds.

I opened it up with trembling fingers and a dry mouth only to behold…

My summons for jury duty!!!

Hooray! More time spent at my favorite place, the county courthouse!

I’m actually really looking forward to it as I’ve never done jury duty and I’m one of those weird people who think voting and jury duty are every person’s responsibility…waaaah waaah waaah (lapsing into “Charlie Brown’s teacher’s voice for a twenty minute discussion on democracy).

And we did manage to pick up the girl in the city. Her plane was supposed to arrive at 8 pm.

It arrived at midnight.

We got home four hours ago.

And now I’m going to work.

If only I had jury duty today, I could curl up in the corner somewhere and take a nap during their selection process…I could be potential juror #3 with a banister mark across her forehead.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 2:17 pm

    Interesting. This very I day I myself also received a court document of sorts, and hand delivered by a nice old gent who said he was sorry.

    I was served with divorce papers two days before Christmas, but out of fairness I knew they were coming.

    Near as I can tell, in Minnesota, if one is laid off after thirty years of service in a terrible economy and one fails to find suitable employment, and perhaps one wants to slow down a bit, the court may order one to ‘get back to work, slacker.’

    At least that is why my dear soon to be ex seems to think. The court orders me to change nothing during the process, and then the court may, in addition to dividing the marital property, order me to resume work to continue to support my ex in the manner to which she has become accustomed. If I fail to find suitable employment the court may find me in contempt of court.

    Wow.

    This is how my soon to be ex gleefully explained it to me.

    Perhaps my attorney will explain things differently, I don’t know, but I am willing to pay the big bucks to find out.

Leave a Reply

