Skip to content

Nobody Puts Baby In The Corner

March 19, 2010

Back a few months ago I had an issue with my pipes. They weren’t quite frozen but they were definately frigid. I would turn my bathroom sink faucet on and nothing would come out. I would then turn on my tub faucet and water would flow out of the sink. It had all the makings of an absolutely fabulous Laurel and Hardy routine.

Only, truth be told, I wasn’t all that amused. It had been a day from hell at work and coming home to plumbing issues that I couldn’t afford was the final straw. I lost it. I turned into a blubbering whiner and took a couple friends on a very convoluted and teary phone conversation from plumbing to a job that I was hating to starting school and having no money and I needed to refinance the house…and…and…and

I’m thinking I looked a little like this

On a side note, when I called my brother (who does not live in the great white north)  to ask for plumbing advice, I was asked “Well, has it been cold there?” To which I replied, “No, it’s been at least 10 degrees. Kinda warm in fact.” There was a bit of a “baa-dump-dump” pause and then the remark of “ummmm. That’s cold.” Yeah, it’s all relative baby!

Anyway, taps were left open, water began to run, and everything in Jesus’s peaceable kingdom worked out.

That was what I remembered this morning as I stood in my bathroom. The time that I was a Sally.

I signed the refi a couple days ago and yesterday I put in my two weeks notice at the job that has been the equivalent of mining my retina with a hand cranked drill. Needless to say, current employer was shocked that I was unhappy. They tried to lay a guilt trip on my by telling me that my supervisors were “very upset” about my choice to leave.

When they asked how long I had been seeking employment elsewhere, I, who by this time had both eyebrows cranked up to my hairline and my best “you have got to be shitting me” look going, told them rather bluntly, “From the second day of working here.”  I was then gently reminded to make sure I was a “good steward” to their name once I left employment there. In other words, any negativity and my kneecaps would be broken in several places. (Well, perhaps I am putting my own spin on it. )

My new job starts April 5th. It is for more money. It is doing things that I deem to be far more comforting for my soul. It also will be the first job that I will fully be using my new name with no explanations needed. It will be a lot to learn. It will be challenging. But, I feel, I am ready.

And perhaps I’ll start wearing hockey kneepads out in public. Just in case.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabatha Voros permalink
    March 19, 2010 11:04 am

    I had sensed you were unhappy in your new job. Can you tell us what happened? Have you considered going back to your old job, rather than trying a new one again? Could you even go back? I don’t know, I guess I am babbling. I am sorry for the loss of your brother. Too often I look back at a time when I was at least semistable and wish for a return to it when things go wrong, that is why I asked about your old job.
    Much love and warm thoughts for you and yours
    tabatha

  2. Pam permalink
    March 19, 2010 11:24 am

    Congratulations on the new job! Where will you be working/what will you be doing?

  3. March 19, 2010 11:35 am

    For the sake of keeping my new job and not dissing the good work that my old job actually does (the people with the boots on the ground, not the people in the upper eschelons) I shall remain mute.

    And no, I would not want to go back to where I was. Going backwards is not an option.

  4. Laura permalink
    March 19, 2010 10:44 pm

    Way to go Baby Sally -onward and onward out of the corners!!!! Getting two new jobs in the current employment atmosphere is impressive. Hope this one will be a good fit for you and the school schedule. Ms. Harkness, warrior woman, you rock, yes you do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

